When it comes to going on a trip, I think packing is the least favourite thing for everyone in general. I know I personally just want to skip to the part when I’m done packing because playing Tetris with your luggage can be pretty stressful. What you need to bring depends on the duration you’re staying, the weather and climate of the country you’re going to be in and about a dozen other factors. Not forgetting that you probably want to bring things to entertain yourself on the long (or short) flight to your destination.

If you’re like me and you can’t ever decide what you need to bring then the key is to start packing really early. This also gives you time to make a list of the things that you might need to buy (if you don’t already have it) and you can also make a list of the things that you already have so you can match outfits way ahead of time.

Before I started packing, I spent my time watching YouTube videos watching other people pack as well as picking up some tips and tricks from them such as:

  • rolling your clothes
  • putting tape on your toiletries to make sure the contents don’t spill
  • using straws to make sure your necklaces don’t get tangled
  • packing cubes! (for the extremely orderly)
  • vacuum bags to stuff all those fluffy clothes

I didn’t really make use of the tips yet because I don’t like to crease my clothes (by rolling them) and I haven’t gotten around to packing my knick knacks in just yet. But I think these are some of the highlights that I got from the videos.

Now I’m glad that I started packing when I had a good 30 odd days left in my countdown. I have to deal with packing a good part of my room into two 28-inch suitcases for a year in university. At this point in time I’m already almost done with my first luggage which is filled with all my clothes. That’s mainly all my jumpers, sweaters, jackets, tights, skirts gloves as well as some of my card games. All I need to worry about now is the additional things and last minute items which will all go into my second luggage along with my winter coat and a spare bed sheet. Since my dad will be flying to London with me, we’ll have a total baggage weight allowance of 60kg. Hopefully what I bring won’t be too heavy!

Since I mentioned YouTube videos, here’s one by the channel FindingFabulous which I watched and thought was actually pretty helpful. She provides a link in the video’s description to the spreadsheet she uses for packing her clothes as well as a full packing list. I made use of the clothing spreadsheet, modifying it to suit my trip abroad and it’s helped me to keep track of what I already have in my luggage.

Moving on to the carry-on items. For me this means entertainment! With a daunting 14 hour flight ahead of you, you’re going to want to be prepared with books, games, movies and devices that will help you pass the time quickly. If you haven’t gotten around to reading that new book or watching that tv series you’ve been eyeing, then bring it along and use that 14 hours wisely.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Just some of the things that I’m going to bring in my carry-on luggage.

My bag probably won’t be able to fit everything so I might have to change it up later on, but for now here’s some of the things that I’ll be bringing along for the flight:

  1. My hard-drive and flash drive: because I would rather have these with me than stuffed into my luggage! And I’d worry that the hard-drive will get crushed while the luggage is being transferred!
  2. Kindle: I swear I have so many books in there which I have yet to touch so this will be the time to try to get some reading done.
  3. Wallet: with all my cards and stuff as well as the local currency for when I get to the U.K. I’ll keep all my ticket stubs for movies in here as well because I’ve had such fond memories watching movies with my friends. The ticket stubs will probably end up tacked to my cork board in my new dorm.
  4. My point and shoot cam and memory card: I’m so glad I found this baby back along with the charger! This camera has served me well (brought it to the U.K back in 2011 and to Tianjin in 2014) and for such a tiny camera it has produced some pretty good pictures!
  5. Harry Potter Book: since I wasn’t able to book tickets to watch the play before I started school, I just have to read this. It’s a priority! So I’m sorry Kindle, but I might not need you after all!
  6. House Targaryen Journal & pens: GoT stationary is a must (if you’re a fan) and since I had so many notebooks I figured I’d bring this fresh one along with me to film school for note taking, ideas and maybe doodles.
  7. Lip gloss, perfume, Tiger Balm and a box of mints: you definitely don’t want cracked lips on a flight and smelling nice is a must, hence the small bottle of perfume. Tiger Balm is my saviour. It smells good, cures my blocked nose at times and is great for headaches. It’s basically my go-to medicated oil when I don’t feel too good. As for the mints, they help during take-off, or when you’re feeling slightly peckish but don’t really want to eat something big.
  8. A cap, my map neck pillow and my Batman eye-mask: the cap is just in case I feel like covering my face and sleeping. The latter two items were on sale at Typo so I just had to get them especially the Batman eye-mask which will match with my BATPANTS (Batman pajama pants).
  9. Portable charger and charging wire: just in case any of my devices gets low on juice during the flight.
  10. 60 pocket folder: for all my important documents from flight tickets to letters of recommendation from my teachers to my acceptance letter from the university.

 

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

And a handful of additional things.

So that’s about it. Now you know what’s in my bag, kind of, since I might be adding more things later on (it depends). I’m pretty sure jumpers/sweaters, tights and boots will become my staple once I’m there and so will beanies! Goodbye warm Singapore where I couldn’t wear all of these things.

Anyway to wrap it up, start packing your luggage early so that you have a lesser chance of forgetting anything and you won’t have to feel so stressed out because you have to pack your whole life in two suitcases. Make a list of the things that you have, the things that you’re going to need to get and a list of what to get/do when you arrive at your destination. Double check all your things the night before you leave and put in any last minute things you might need and you’re ready to go!

 

Leave a comment